I Hope The Ride Is Not Over. ( Justice League – Review) ★★★★

justice-league-poster

 

 

I have seen this film twice now, and I needed to see it twice to come to my overall score on the film. I am not going to act like this is unbiased because its not I would consider myself a “DC fanboy”, don’t get me wrong Marvel is amazing but DC has always stood out to me more. The characters under the DC comics rooster are so interesting and amazing, from a young age I have been invested in the DC universe, whether that comes from watching the old superman films as a kid with my dad or watching the best animated show ever that of the Justice League and its sequel Justice League unlimited with my brothers the DC comics characters have always been in my life. So you can imagine I was really excited to see this film finally a big screen team up outing from these characters, the film had its problems before it came out with all the behind scenes issues, re shoots and the lower critical response upon release. This film however is another one of those films that splits audience and critic. I REALLY ENJOYED THIS FILM.

The film carry’s on after the events of Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice, the death of Superman has had an effect on the world for the better and the worse, a rise in crime but a rise in heroes as well, the idea that superman is a beacon is strong in this film. The story carry’s on from this I don’t want to go into to many spoilers but I will hit on a few so if you have not seen it yet stop reading here and come back. The film starts of with Batman being Batman coming face to face with a Parademon the army of the films villain, and we get to see Ben Affleck in this role once again, personally i think he is perfect as Bruce and Batman its a shame it doesn’t seem he feels the same. We are then introduced to wonder women and the rest of the gang : Aquaman, the Flash and that of Cyborg. The whole team is amazing Jason Momoa brings his bad ass nature that just comes naturally to him to the character of Aquaman and finally brings that character of the joke heroes into the cool ones. Ezra Miller as the Flash was genius casting he is the heart of the film, he is us, amazed by everything that’s going on and he has some of the funniness lines in the whole film. Cyborg played by new comer ray fisher is amazing I would love to see more from this character as not enough was touched on in the film but what they set up could be interesting for sequels and standalone films. Wonder Women was amazing once again, you can tell from this that after her films success she has been given the a role that is more of a leadership one.

The films story is a bit paint by numbers but paced very well, theirs no boring moments in the film it flows really nicely, nice action set pieces in which we get to see all the team working together, tension in the group as well as you would expect is up and down which is good story aspect. The Return of character is very well done I would of liked to see a black suit and long hair for Superman’s return but this was good enough with a fight between the members and the bit with the flash made for a very entertaining watch. The only real downside i have with this movie is the villain he isn’t menacing enough and his motives seem to be from a higher place, or form, Steppenwolf after all is the uncle of the big bad of the DC universe Darkside other that some of the cgi is a bit jarring in some scenes but that’s my only downsides to this film.

I would highly recommend this film to anyone who watched the old animated show, or loves the comic book movie genre.

PS: Stick around for those 2 after credits, OMG.

My Score: ★★★★

IMDb: 7.4/10

Rotten Tomatoes: 37%

 

 

 

Leave a comment